SER: ZAIU

2017-2018 OFFICERS

ASHRAE

10x6

TM

President ROB MAURO rmauro@nelsonstark.com Nelson Stark

President-Elect BRYAN SCHENCK

BWSchenck@heapy.com Heapy Engineering

Treasurer Mike Weisman

MichaelWeisman@habeggercorp.com Habegger Corporation

Secretary BRIAN TURNER

BTurner@ElitAire.com ElitAire

UPCOMING EVENTS

April 18th **Board of Governors** 8:00 AM, Heapy Engineering

April 19th **ASHRAE Webcast** 1:00 PM, Heapy Engineering

May 14th **Board of Governors** 8:00 AM, Heapy Engineering

See Additional Events & Volunteer Opportunities Here <u>Student Night</u> April Meeting—April 9th

2018

ISSUE IV



Technical Tour—Main Branch

Dinner: 5:30 PM Meet at the Engineers Club, before the Tour.

110 East Monument Avenue, Dayton 45402

Tour Begins: 7:00 PM We intend to walk from the Engineer's Club. 215 East Third Street, Dayton 45402

> RSVP to <u>JPFauber@heapy.com</u> By Thursday 4/5 @ Noon

FREE to Members & Students \$20 to All Others



WWW.DALYTONALSHIBAVE.OBG

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

MEMBERSHIP JEREMY FAUBER

JPFauber@heapy.com Heapy Engineering

HISTORY TOM FERDELMAN

tferdelman@ymail.com

WEBMASTER NATHAN LAMMERS

Nathan.Lammers@waibelenergy systems.com Waibel Energy Systems

NEWSLETTER BRYAN SCHENCK

BWSchenck@heapy.com Heapy Engineering

RESEARCH PROMO TOM MASTBAUM

tmastbaum@woh.rr.com

STUDENT ACTIVITIES RUSSELL MARCKS

Russell.marcks@sinclair.edu Sinclair Community College

CTTC EVAN NUTT ENutt@elitaire.com

Elitaire

GRASSROOTS Open Chair Position Contact Rob Mauro for Inquiries

YEA (CO-CHAIRS) STEVEN N. MEIER

steve@skm.services SKM Services

MIKE WEISMAN

MichaelWeisman@habeggercorp.com Habegger Corporation

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

JEREMY FAUBER

Heapy Engineering

RICK PAVLAK Heapy Engineering

LARRAINE KAPKA Sinclair College

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

ASHRAE Dayton Chapter will be holding elections for next years chapter officers a the April Meeting.

These include:

President Elect, Treasurer, Secretary, & Board of Governors (3)

FROM THE PRESIDENT

Dayton ASHRAE is excited for our April meeting. We will be at the Dayton Engineer's Club to start then after dinner we will have a tour of the newly renovated Dayton Metro Library just two blocks away. We will also be holding elections for next year's Board of Governors. Spots that will be selected include: Secretary, Treasurer, and President-Elect for 2019-2020. If you would like to nominate someone for a position please contact me or Bryan Schenck via email and we will make sure to get the name on the ballet.

Our Dayton ASHRAE Scholarship committee has evaluated our applicants. See below for the winners. Official awarding of the scholarships will be next fall.

Make sure to sign up for the Dayton ASHRAE Golf Outing. The event will be May 18th at Heatherwoode Golf Club. If you would like to participate as one our main sponsors please reach out to me or Michael Weisman for details.

Register HERE: http://daytonashraegolf2018.eventbrite.com/

Rob Mauro — President Dayton ASHRAE

CONGRATULATIONS

And the winners are.....

- Keller Scholarship—Nicholas Christopher Koch (\$1,500) Sophomore, Mechanical Engineering, University of Dayton
 - Rapier Scholarship—Bipin Karki (\$1,000)
 - Masters Student, Renewable & Clean Energy, University of Dayton Chapter Scholarship—Kirsten Hansen (\$1,000)
 - Junior, Mechanical Engineering, University of Dayton



Making Energy Efficiency a Reality ASHRAE Webcast | April 19, 2018



Advertise in your Dayton ASHRAE Newsletter and on the Dayton ASHRAE Website.

Please inquire for pricing based on ad size and term length.

All proceeds to Dayton ASHRAE Scholarship Fund.

Send inquiries to: <u>BWSchenck@heapy.com</u>





us on Facebook!



New Members

DANTON CHAIPITER | 3

The Dayton Chapter is happy to welcome its newest members. If you see them please give them a warm welcome!

February Benit Pokharel & Sajjan Pokhrel

Membership Recognition

We would like to recognize the following members who have been with ASHRAE for the following years! Thank you for all your contributions to the field!

> 20 Years — Hugh Schweitzer 10 Years — Jon Coyle

Membership Promotion Committee

Looking for a way to get involved with your local ASHRAE chapter and meet new people? The membership promotion committee is looking for volunteers to join the committee. The committee's primary responsibility is to recruit new members and retain existing members. If you are interested in serving please contact Jeremy Fauber at JPFauber@heapy.com. Or by calling 937-224-0861

Membership Application Here

Go Local or National... Apply for Membership on a Local Committee or Technical Committee!

ASHRAE welcomes new members to its technical committees. To be considered for technical committee membership, you must:

- Notify ASHRAE staff at TCStaff@ashrae.net of your interest in a particular TC, TG, TRG, or MTG.
- Create or update your ASHRAE biographical record under the "Manage Your Membership" link from the ASHRAE Web site.

500-150

RP Honor Roll—INDIVIDUALS Begins at \$100

Jeremy Fauber Joe Ferdelman Tom Ferdelman Larraine Kapka John Keefe Nathan Lammers Russell Marcks Thomas E Mastbaum Robert A. Mauro Steven N Meier Evan Nutt John R. Patterson Richard L. Pavlak Bryan W. Schenck Kyle Schroeder Sam Tobias Brian Turner Michael Weisman

DANTON CHAIPINER 4

Special Mention

Tom Monnig, Nick LaRich

Major Donor—Antique—\$250 to \$499

Rieck Mechanical Services

Uptime Solutions

Major Donor—Silver—\$1,000 to \$2,499

Waibel Energy Systems

Dayton ASHRAE Chapter

ASHRAE Partner Emerson Climate Technologies



DAYTTON CHAIPTEER | 5 ATLANTA (March 22, 2018) – ASHRAE is seeking participants for its fourth annual LowDown Showdown Modeling Competition, held in conjunction with the 2018 Building Performance Analysis Conference and Sim-Build Conference, co-organized by ASHRAE and IBPSA-USA, Sept. 26-28, in Chicago. Teams will compete to design and model a near zero energy, 60,000 square foot, newly constructed museum with retail space and a full service restaurant, located in Denver, Colorado. "The focus of the 2018 Building Performance Analysis Conference and SimBuild is the adoption of new techniques and work processes to meet the growing challenges faced by today's designers and modelers," says Annie Marston, competition committee chair. "The LowDown Showdown is a fun, collaborative opportunity for conference attendees to engage and learn. Teams will be judged not only on how close they get to zero energy, but on the creativity of their design and the use of innovative new technologies and approaches." The competition engages architects, engineers, designers and energy modelers by working on integrated teams in the creation of effective workflow and outstanding design in real-word building efficiency challenges. Each team will create and submit a poster of their building design, a performance analysis model and results spreadsheet, and write a one-page narrative on project workflow. Participants will also be required to submit one graphic to Project StaSIO, an online crowd sourced repository of modeling graphics and images. Team members have roles, simulating real-life working scenarios, pushing the boundaries of integrated design. Participants are matched up according to software proficiency and teams will be evaluated in six categories: energy, teamwork, practicality, creativity, calibration and presentation. Prizes will be awarded for the top three teams and conference attendees will vote electronically for the fan favorite. The results will be announced at a reception during the conference. The deadline to sign up for participation is April 16. To sign up and for more information on the 2018 Low-Down Showdown, visit www.ashrae.org/4thlowdown.

ASHRAE